Skip to content

In My Lap

March 6, 2007

I feel like a real writer as I type this post on my new laptop. I got a Toshiba Satellite that’s making me very happy. Yay, me.

Spring Break is over, and I wrote not a word on the London book. First off, “Spring break” is a woeful misnomer–we had the first actual blizzard that I’ve seen in Bismarck over Thursday and Friday. High winds and blowing snow kept the roads in a state of perpetual crappiness that the municipal fleet of snowplows couldn’t keep up with, and visibility while I was picking up the kids from school Friday (because the schools never close here, ever) was about fifteen feet.

I didn’t do the school run terribly often last week, though, because the whole family, except me, was down with a sinusy, coughing, sneezing, fever thing. Gwyn was eventually diagnosed with bronchitis, and Ian and Eva both missed a couple of days of school, and one of drum lessons. I stayed mercifully well, as did our good friend Noelle, who came to spend Wednesday through Sunday with us, unaware of the hellish den of germs and frozen tundra she was entering.

BUT. It was wonderful to see Noelle, especially for Gwyn, who’s been feeling (on top of the sickness) a little isolated in this land of Republican Christian meat-eaters. Noelle was a welcome reminder of our close friends across the country–and she brought 40-year-old Virgin, which was really funny.

And, once the storm went away, the snow was beautiful and deep. The air was crisp and temperatures soared into the 40s. And yesterday I saw a huge white jackrabbit in our yard, sprinting away from me as I pulled into the driveway.

Now back at work, I’m doing conferences with my 103 students on first drafts of papers. Twelve conferences a day for four days, fifteen minutes a conference. My favorite student sentence from this morning: “Assisted suicide continues to not only be illegal throughout the United States, but it is a crime.” Which is as true as it can be.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Magadan permalink
    March 8, 2007 9:38 pm

    I loved the student conferences… definitely the best kind of paper-writing help ever created. It sounds cold!!! I still can’t imagine moving from the south to someplace like North Dakota… though I didn’t think of SC as a very vegetarian-friendly, liberal place, I can imagine the Dakotas are unimaginably less so. Brave!!!

    ~Meg~

Leave a Reply

