Skip to content

Earnestness

April 16, 2008

Well, well. The play is done and we’ve all survived. My life is beginning to drift back to normal: I’ve worked my way through the backed-up grading and have cleared the scarily numerous piles of paper from my office floor.

The Importance of Being Earnest was a great success. We had 200 people on opening night, and somewhere near 600 over the course of 4 performances. The cast were stellar–I was really proud of the work they put in and the final product. I think I’m prouder of this production than of anything I’ve done so far at UMary. I have missed doing theatre, particularly the collaborative nature of the art form: actors, set designers/builders, costumers, stage crew, and me all working together (and don’t forget the long-dead playwright) to realize a single experience for the audience. And, bottom line, it was terribly, terribly funny. Here are some shots of my cast in costume before the final performance:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

