Skip to content

Halloween events

October 23, 2008

I’ve got a few fun things coming up over the next couple of weeks. I’m doing a talk called “The Thirsty Dead: Vampires in Popular Culture from Byron to Buffy” twice this coming week–once at the Plains Art Museum in Fargo on Saturday Oct. 25th and once at the Heritage Center on the Capitol grounds in Bismarck on Tuesday Oct. 28th. Both talks are at 7:30pm and are free and open to the public. This is a revised and lengthened version of a talk I gave at Minot State two years ago. There will be lots of images and a few sound clips, as well as discussion of vampire literature starting with the early 19th century and ending, not with Buffy (though all vampire lit really ended with Buffy), but with Twilight and True Blood. I’m really looking forward to both talks; I’ve never really been to Fargo, and the Bismarck show is looking like it will be packed.

These talks are done through the North Dakota Humanities Council, a wonderful organization that I’ve been happily involved with almost since I entered the state. My friend Brenna Daugherty has just taken over as Executive Director there, and is already moving the Council in some exciting new directions. They’ve worked up a poster based on the one from the Minot talk in 2006:

vampire-poster-fargo

vampire-poster-bismarck

Feel free to download and distribute one or both of these.

I’ll be doing a different sort of performance on Saturday Nov. 1st at the Public Library in Bismarck. My friend Ali and I will be, for the second year in a row, doing a Spooky Stories event for kids ages 7 and up. I’ll do half an hour of songs and stories, and Ali will then lead them in making a spooky Halloween book. We had a great time doing this show last year, and this year should be just as much fun. You should come.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

