Skip to content

More publishing news…

March 10, 2009

I hate to post again so soon, because it’s fun having “Vampire Lesbians of the Amazon” as the first post title on the blog. But we move on…

It seems like things are going well on the publishing front (after 39 years of waiting). My poem “Universal Monsters” will be published in the summer issue of The Lumberyard, a beautiful letterpress poetry magazine edited by Jen and Eric Woods. Lumberyard is a really unique looking mag, done in gorgeous letterpress with quirky art and inventive fonts. They’re relatively new, but have already published Matthew Lippman and Eleanor Lerman, among quite a few others. Matthew Dickman, I’m told, will be appearing in the same issue as I. I’m proud to be there among such company.

I’m also proud of the poem. “Universal Monsters” is part of my poetry project inspired by the old Universal horror films and my memories of watching those movies with my mom when I was a lad. It’s the first one of those published and may be the title poem from the series once they’re done. I’ve been rewatching the old movies to remember and to be inspired, and I’m loving going back there. Gwyn’s been a good sport about watching them with me. So far we’ve done The Mummy, The Wolf Man, and The Creature from the Black Lagoon. And of course I’ve watched Dracula, Frankenstein, and Bride of Frankenstein multiple times. Dracula’s Daughter is great, too. I’ve got Universal’s first werewolf picture, Werewolf of London, in my Netflix queue. I haven’t seen that one before, so I’m looking forward to it. We’ll see if all of them yield poetic inspiration.

I hope my publishing streak keeps up.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

