Skip to content

Poems about Facial Hair

April 27, 2009

As I forewarned you earlier, my poem “Whiskers” is now up at Strange Horizons. I’m really proud to be featured there, and am happy that it’s this poem that got there. You can go read it for yourself here.

Otherwise I’m ending the semester. Finals this week, though I’m only giving one actual final (presentations and papers in the other two classes). Grading most of the week and then graduation on Saturday, which is the one time a year I get to break out the old regalia and look like an Oxford don. I sometimes wonder what it would be like to teach in the regalia all the time–it would lend an often-lacking prestige to the job, and on warm days I wouldn’t need pants. But these are progressive times, and thus I conform, pedestrian and trousered. For the best, really.

I’ve been hatching three schemes with my friend Brenna, in her guise as Executive Director of the North Dakota Humanities Council. I like Brenna because when I say something like “Why don’t I do a one-man show presenting Dickens’ life and works?” she often replies “That sounds great, we’ll pay you to prepare it and buy the costumes.” Which is the answer I’m usually interested in hearing. So, it looks like over the next two or three years, I’ll be leading a group of Humanities Council members on a trip to London, presenting a one-man show on the life and works of Dickens, and spearheading a film festival featuring the work of Terry Gilliam. I’ll let you know more as I do, but right now it looks like all three of these are a go. Hoo-ray.

I’ve also started moving ahead with plans to turn my goblin poem “Cornerboys” into a short film with illustrations by Ali LaRock and music by Kevin Smith. Ali’s been talked about in this blog before–she’s an amazing artist who does lovely, emotionally complex work. Kevin Smith (not that Kevin Smith) is a guitarist, composer, and producer who I’ve known since we were in the fourth grade together (some time after the Beatles broke up but, significantly, while Keith Moon was still alive). He produced both of my albums, and is a great composer and musician. I’m excited about having both of them involved in this project. I’m hoping that we have a finished product by October, so that I can do some live readings/presentations of the poem for Halloween. I’ll keep you updated on that as well.

And while we’re talking about Kevin, you should go vote for him in the finals of the international guitar competition he’s currently competing in. Find him and his song “9 Dollars” here. You’ll have to register to vote, but it’s quick and so far I haven’t been deluged by spam because of it.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2009 12:09 pm

    Sent Jeffrey the poem, asking if he felt bereft whenever he shaves. Haven’t heard back yet.

    Sounds like you have all kinds of Very Cool irons in the fire these days! I’m particularly interested in the Terry Gilliam project–but make sure the Dickens project gets posted on You Tube so we can watch it.

    I think any day that one doesn’t have to wear pants is a good day. You might want to think that whole regalia thing, or take to wearing a kilt, Dr. McRidenhour.

  2. Jamieson Ridenhour permalink*
    April 27, 2009 1:03 pm

    The Dickens project will be two hours long or so, and therefore not easily postable. I’ll see what I can do, though. It’s a year away, at least.

    Kilts…yeah, I could get used to that.

  3. April 29, 2009 11:00 am

    My favorite line in this post: “…and thus I conform…”

    Sounds like the title of something interesting.

  4. Jamieson Ridenhour permalink*
    April 29, 2009 11:09 am

    Thanks, Michele. I think “Pedestrian and Trousered” should be the name of an album, or a retrospective of the work of an obscure poet.

  5. May 23, 2009 9:20 am

    What a lovely lot of news. Well done. Celebrating heartily, though upside down, from here. And big kudos to Ian on the chess showing, too. I really enjoy considering all four in your family my friends.

  6. Jamieson Ridenhour permalink*
    May 25, 2009 9:37 am

    Thanks, David! It sounds like things have been exciting down under as well–essays, celebrations, hospital visits. And the field experience will be India? Any other details?

    We’re glad to call you friend as well. Hope things are good down there. Give our love to Deanna and Mason.

Trackbacks

  1. What is it about facial hair? « Jamieson Ridenhour

Leave a Reply

