Skip to content

Carol Ann Duffy

May 4, 2009
tags: ,

I’m very pleased that Carol Ann Duffy has been chosen as the new Poet Laureate of Great Britain. She is the first female Poet Laureate in 341 years of the post’s existence, and she is , as you would expect, a poet of considerable power. Her collection The World’s Wife is fabulous, and I regularly teach from it in both Brit Lit courses and Intro to the Profession of English. She’s funny and witty and smart and poignant, and well deserves the accolade. She talks about it here.

This weekend was taken up with UMary’s graduation and the ND State Chess Championship, in which Ian won three out of six rounds. Not bad for an eight-year-old playing against adults and teenagers, if I do say so myself. I’m back in the office today, and have just turned my grades in, thus clearing the path for the planning and meetings that will take up most of May. I do hope to begin working more regularly on writing projects of various kinds this month, before really setting to during the summer. And Blind Mice will begin rehearsals for our summer shows soon. If you’re interested in those, you can check out the band’s website. I hope to have the dates finalized and posted there in the next week or so.

The weather has turned glorious. May is the best month to be in North Dakota, and it’s already begun.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2009 1:53 pm

    Glad that the weather is lovely and that the semester is winding down. Sounds like you’re in for a really creative summer, too–very cool, Jamie.

  2. May 17, 2009 4:02 pm

    Jamie,

    My Mum and Dad saw Carol Ann Duffy give a reading on Saturday night. They said while some poets are disappointing readers, Duffy did her poems justice. I’d have loved to have been there, wouldn’t you? hugs to one and all, Robynx

  3. Jamieson Ridenhour permalink*
    June 4, 2009 10:04 pm

    Hi Robyn–

    I’m so jealous! I’d love to see Duffy read. You’re right that some poets don’t read well–I’ve been disappointed by quite a few poets who write beautifully but don’t seem to get how to deliver their words orally. the best poet I’ve ever seen read was Seamus Heaney. His lovely Irish baritone was perfect, and he had a real sense of timing and emotion.

Leave a Reply

