Skip to content

Cornerboys is coming…

August 18, 2009

Over the next couple of months, I’ll be working with a couple of friends to complete a project I’ve been thinking about for quite a while. My long poem “Cornerboys,” which was published in a small (and now defunct) horror magazine called Whispers from the Shattered Forum back in 2000, is being resurrected as a short film. My favorite artist, Ali LaRock, is illustrating the poem, and producer/composer extraordinaire Kevin Smith is writing and recording a score. The final product will include Kevin’s music and Ali’s art along with me giving a dramatic reading of the poem.

We’ve been talking about this for a while–I think I first approached Ali about it nearly two years ago. Things have begun to move now, and we hope to have something tangible for you by October, because Halloween seems the best time to launch this little story on the world.

While I was in the Carolinas the first week of August, I spent some time at Kevin’s recording studio and did the narration. I was very pleased with the result, which was quite creepy and atmospheric. Here are some in-studio shots:

Here I am in the vocal booth, reading in various creepy voices

Here I am in the vocal booth, reading in various creepy voices

Kevin working studio magic on my reading

Kevin working studio magic on my reading

Kevin has since sent me the first snippet of music, and it’s really, mind-blowingly good. It’s only 25 seconds long, but it sounds like the love-child of Alfred Hitchcock and Danny Elfman. Ali’s preliminary sketches are due any day now.

I’ll keep you updated as we progress. I’m very excited about this project.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2009 5:21 pm

    Jamie…

    I am THRILLED for you and can’t wait to see your creative brilliance bear fruit.

    As per usual.

    🙂

    Deano (and the Lamb)

  2. August 18, 2009 7:26 pm

    This is the coolest thing ever, Jamie! Congratulations–can’t wait to see/hear the final product, creepy voices and all! Now, I have this to look forward to in October followed by Adam’s release in November. Yes, I am a fangirl. 🙂

  3. Jamieson Ridenhour permalink*
    August 18, 2009 7:41 pm

    Holy crow! Did I just get placed in the same category as Adam?

    Dean–thanks, sir. You’ll certainly get to see the final product.

  4. August 20, 2009 4:03 pm

    As a matter of fact, Dr. R, you did. 🙂

Leave a Reply

