Skip to content

Vampire Guy

October 6, 2009

Whilst I slept, I became the de facto vampire expert for North Dakota. This is the second time the Fargo Forum has contacted me to be the authority in a story on vampire literature. I guess I’ll only worry when they start asking me about real vampires. The story, on whether or not vampires have lost their “bite” in popular culture (I didn’t write that gag) is here. A companion piece listing some of my favorite pieces of vampire lore (though 30 Days of Night isn’t one of those, necessarily) is here.  You may have to sign up for a free Fargo Forum account to read them–it is actually free and no emails are forthcoming. It’s not a bad article, even if he spelled Carmilla wrong.

It’s sort of fun every October, suddenly becoming the Vampire Guy. It’s only slightly annoying that I have to spend so much time as Vampire Guy pointing out how abysmally bad the Twilight books are. But part of being Vampire Guy is having the knowledge of much great vampire literature, and with that knowledge comes, you guessed it, that ability to recognize crap when you see it. But, there is True Blood and the novels it’s based on. There is the sublime Let the Right One In. There is Buffy on DVD. And there will always be Carmilla, and Robert Neville, and that dude from The Preacher. All’s not light and kisses. We have some darkness left.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 8, 2009 9:52 am

    I like the new look, Jamie:) Anyway, I was going to say, “Save us, Vampire Guy, from the Cullens!”

    Happy October, VG!

Leave a Reply

