Skip to content

Wild Things

October 20, 2009

I haven’t yet seen Where the Wild Things Are, but I’m looking forward to it. I’m usually wary of children’s books being turned into feature length films (and after the complete horrorshow crapfest of Jim Carrey’s Grinch, I feel justified in that wariness), but I have been heartened by the fact that Spike Jonze and David Eggers had to answer  not only to the studio but to Maurice Sendak himself.

Now, there are apparently complaints that the movie is too scary for kids. And Maurice Sendak has responded. This makes me love him even more.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 20, 2009 8:58 pm

    Way to go, MS! I agree 100%–the book is moody and frightening; why shouldn’t the movie be, too?!

Leave a Reply

