Skip to content

Moving on

November 9, 2009

October was a whirlwind–making and releasing a short film in a single month was fun and furious. You’d think I’d spend November resting. Instead, I’m participating in National Novel Writing Month, wherein thousands of folks across the globe attempt to write a 50,000 word short novel in 30 days. My kids are doing it along with me, though with reduced word count goals, and so are one of my colleagues, one of my former students, and our Texan friend Isabella, who is a talented artist and poet, and now wants to add a novel to the accomplishments of her eight years on the earth.

My novel is a pastiche of a Jeeves and Wooster novel combined with an Agatha Christie style manor house murder mystery. With werewolves. The working title at this point is Reginald Spiffington, Werewolf.

I’m drinking lots of coffee, which isn’t really new. And I’m not sleeping quite as much–I tend to stay up ’til nearly midnight and then get up around five or so to squeeze in some more writing. But I’m having a blast. I had my novel mapped out in general terms before the month started, and so far I’ve been writing smoothly and with few stops or speed bumps. I’m a little behind word count; I should be at 13,000 some odd words by now, and I’m at 12,576. I plan to catch up tonight.

nano_09_blk_participant_100x100_1.png

Which is not to say that Cornerboys is being neglected. We continue to gain new fans on Facebook (linked to your right), and the YouTube version continues to collect hits (we will break 1000 this week, more than likely). We’re also submitting the film to various independent film festivals, and will keep you posted on that front.

Talk to you soon. I must go write…

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2009 4:21 pm

    Good luck!

  2. November 9, 2009 4:22 pm

    Good luck, Jamie!

    • Jamieson Ridenhour permalink*
      November 9, 2009 10:48 pm

      Thank you, sir.

  3. November 9, 2009 7:45 pm

    Lots of folks on twitter are NaNoWriMo-ing. If you want to find them, tweet w/hashtag #NaNoWriMo, or search for that hashtag.

    Sounds like a fun and productive November, Jamie. Have a blast–can’t wait to read about werewolf crime solving and What Not! Very cool that your kids are into it, as well. I feel like such a slacker. But Camille caught a mole today and killed it Dead. So there. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Jamieson Ridenhour permalink*
    November 9, 2009 10:47 pm

    You are not a slacker, my friend. One look at the pictures of your Halloween-bedecked yard is proof of that.

    Thanks for the Twitter tip. I follow NaNoWriMo itself; I figured there would be quite a few folks on there.

    I nearly bought quinoa at the store today, because of you. But it was WAY expensive, and I knew I couldn’t make it taste like you did…

  5. November 19, 2009 5:13 am

    Jamie,

    I spoke to a friend of mine last night. She’s called Nina and lives near London. We hadn’t spoken for a while but she regularly checks out my blog. Well, you know what? She was so touched and inspired by your video that she used it in her class. She works in a high school in a ‘difficult’ area. She showed the first half of the video and asked them to create an ending! I’m encouraging her to email you the results. Even if you don’t hear ever from her, know that I think its pretty darn cool that you’re touching people with your ideas.

    hugs (inspired hugs),
    Robynxxx

  6. Jamieson Ridenhour permalink*
    November 19, 2009 9:14 am

    Thanks so much for sharing this Robyn! There have been three or four uses of Cornerboys in (mostly college) classrooms already, but this sounds like the coolest, and the one with the most potential impact. It never occured to me that people would want to *teach* this. Please encourage her to contact me–I’d love to hear from her. I’ll be in London in May; I’d love to meet her.

    All our love to you and Benoit and the wee ones. I hope to get to France one day and see you in person again. Any chance of enticing you and the fam across the channel in May?

  7. November 19, 2009 4:51 pm

    Jamie,
    I’ll forward your message onto Nina and keep prodding her to contact you ๐Ÿ™‚

    For May, YES, keep in touch – I met with with Leah Hampton and Lis Gallo in London a few years back when they were on a school trip (and have subsequently met Leah on another school trip here in Alsace, France.. and have met Lis in Italy).

    We’re not ‘so’ far away.. I could fly and meet up with both you and Nina (that would be a good excuse for me to see Nina).

    You are, of course, welcome here ANYTIME (we live just beside airports and train stations).

    Let’s stay in touch about May ๐Ÿ™‚
    Robynx

Leave a Reply

