Skip to content

End of the Year

December 24, 2009

It is a beautiful Christmas Eve day here in Bismarck. We’re under a blizzard warning, and the wind chill is -18 right now, but I’m sitting ensconced in my study, drinking hot Earl Grey and looking out the window at the snow. Despite the weather warnings, we are not in the midst of a storm, but rather have bright and brittle sunlight shining on the white winterscape. Lovely. Gwyn’s parents are here from North Carolina, we watched A Muppet Christmas Carol last night, and there are scads of brightly wrapped packages under our still-alive tree. I have Loreena McKennitt’s Midwinter Night’s Dream on the iTunes. I love the Christmas/Solstice/Hannukah season–ages of various cultural traditions layering together to represent the hope of renewal in the midst of winter. Good food and family and friendship.

Coolest gift so far: handmade Ali LaRock figurines. They are Skely Dickens and Sassy Skely, in honor of me and Gwyn.

We're cooler than your gifts.

So life is good. And it has been a good year. I began it by publishing Carmilla, and over the course of the year wrote Spirits of Dickens, which will be performed this spring, and made and released the Cornerboys film, of which I am inordinately proud.  I published poetry in Strange Horizons and the award-winning letterpress magazine The Lumberyard. The Christmas Carol reading went well, and is now firmly set be an annual fundraiser for the Arlis Saxon Eco-Kids Project.

More good things are on the horizon. I’ve just been asked to participate in an event for the Missouri Valley Chamber Orchestra; An Evening of Romance will be on the Friday before Valentine’s Day, and will feature several chamber orchestra ensembles performing romantic pieces, Baroque dance duets by Carly Schaub from Northern Plains Dance (with whom I’ve worked before), and me reading poetry in between. I get to pick the poetry. This should be a lot of fun. There are some lectures coming up as well (one in late January at NDSU) and the Literary London tour in May. Keep an eye on the “Calendar” page here to stay updated.

Plus, there should be some fairly exciting news on the Cornerboys front, which I’ll keep you informed about as it happens. I hope for some announcements about that during the first few months on the year.

I also hope to finish the novel I started during National Novel Writing Month this November. I didn’t make the 50,000 word mark, but I did get 22,000 and got the plot and characters and most importantly the momentum to push it on.

I’m not sure how many of you are actually out there–the number of hits on the site have gone up a lot this year, particularly around the Cornerboys release, so I know there are a few of you. Thanks so much for spending part of your time reading about my projects and giving me feedback and support. It is an exciting time for me creatively, and I only see that increasing as we move into the next decade. So stay awhile; I will be faithful.

Have yourself a merry little Christmas, or whatever brand of winter joy you partake. Here’s to the New Year!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2010 8:03 pm

    2009 was a great year for you and your family! Don’t forget Connecting with Friends in Garner. And homeschooling, too!

    Hope your 2010 is just as fabulous, if not more so:)

  2. Jamieson Ridenhour permalink*
    January 21, 2010 11:41 am

    Thanks, Chef Jenni! And yes, dinner with friends in Garner was very much a highlight!

Leave a Reply

