Skip to content

What is it about facial hair?

February 25, 2010

Last year, I published a poem in Strange Horizons called “Whiskers.” I’m pretty happy with the poem, and I was really jazzed to have it appear in a forum as prestigious as Strange Horizons. Hoo-rah for me. I celebrated my happiness by writing a brief blog entry about it, which I called “Poems About Facial Hair.” A done deal, you’d say.

Except that that particular blog entry keeps getting hits, usually 4-5 but sometimes as many as 10 in a week. That’s a lot for a nearly-year old entry, and it’s far and away the most visited entry I’ve ever written. The reason why has nothing to do with my poem or even with me. It has to do with a bizarrely recurring Google search. My dashboard here at WordPress not only logs hits on the site, but it also tells me what terms were entered into search engines to lead people here. And for some reason which I’m not sure I want to know, scads of people search, almost daily, for “poems about facial hair,” “facial hair poems,” or some other combination. I had no idea that there was a whole niche market for this sort of thing. Does anyone know why this might be? Is there a particular poem about beards that everybody is trying to find? They aren’t looking for my poem, because very few of these folks click through to the Strange Horizons site.But it happened again today: two different searches for “facial hair poems.”

Can anyone enlighten me? Because I’m thinking of a whole book of poetry about facial hair. Could be my big break…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Meghan permalink
    April 13, 2010 10:39 am

    Funny that you mention facial hair in this entry and Debra Marquart in the next… she has a wonderful lyric essay on having a chin whisker.

  2. Jamieson Ridenhour permalink*
    April 13, 2010 10:44 am

    Cool! I was unaware of that essay. I’ll have to dig it up now.

Leave a Reply

