Skip to content

What I’ve got on draft

May 3, 2010

That was a bad pun, sorry. But I’m giddy with the fact that I completed the first draft of the novel last night around 11:45pm. I may be giddy with lack of sleep, the two things feel similar. At any rate, I’m sending it off to my editor in a few moments, and will then sit back and chew my fingernails down to the first knuckle while I wait for her response. I’m very happy with it, acknowledgeing the drafty nature of it and knowing already some of the rewrites and additional scenes it will need to completely bring it together. Even so, it’s the best comedy murder-mystery with a werewolf in it that I’ve written.

The next project at hand will be beginning rehearsals with Blind Mice as we prepare to record our first CD in early June. Keep updated on that process over at the Blind Mice web site. Otherwise I’ll be working on some poetry, and waiting for word on film festivals for Cornerboys. It’s good to have summer on the horizon.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2010 5:03 am

    I’m already grooving on the draft that you sent me, Jamie. I’m more than halfway through, as I started reading this past week, but I can feel this one. It’s like Neil Gaiman and Emily Bronte had drinks at Bram Stoker’s pub before they went home and conceived a baby while Warren Zevon played background music on Anne Rice’s porch next door. I can’t wait to read this in it’s FULL glory – I’m so proud of you.

    Much love, brother…

    Deano

    P.S. And the Zombie Sonnet made me giggle like a little girl.

  2. Jamieson Ridenhour permalink*
    May 4, 2010 8:51 am

    Many thanks, Dean, and much love back to you. I don’t remember how much I sent you, my guess is it was the 75-page first four chapters that I initially gave to the publisher as a proposal. I’m glad you like it. It gets better.

Leave a Reply

