Skip to content

Post ValleyCon Post

October 17, 2010

Just got back from three days in Fargo, one of which I spent doing a lecture on Carmilla at NDSU as the guest of the History, Philosophy, and Religion department. Fun lecture, and really good, in-depth Q&A afterwards (and even better Thai food after that). Thanks to Dennis Cooley and John Cox at NDSU for inviting me and taking care of me while I was there.

Saturday and Sunday I spent at ValleyCon, North Dakota’s own science fiction, fantasy, and horror convention. The big news there is that Cornerboys won Best Fantasy film in the Fargo Fantastic Film Festival. We’re very excited about the honor, and owe big thanks to Tony Tilton and the staff at ValleyCon for inviting us and for being such great hosts. Ali and I talked about filmmaking on a panel along with Mike Urvand, former chief writer on the Star Trek fan film series Hidden Frontier, and I talked about the history of vampire fiction and film with Tony Tilton, who turns out to be quite the expert on all permutations of the Dracula story.

We also met Dean Haglund, who played one of the Lone Gunmen on The X-Files, and saw his terribly funny improv stand-up show on Saturday night. I laughed so hard I cried, and Ian actually fell off his chair. And I found a new webcomic to distract me, the high fantasy/steampunk hybrid Impure Blood, and met its creators, writer Nadja Baer and artist Nathan Lueth. Great comic from an up-and-coming creative couple–go check it out.

So. I’m home now and have partaken of grits, eggs, and English muffins. Tomorrow back to work. Hopefully I’ll be done soon with the North Dakota vampire story I’m working on, so I can be ready for NaNoWriMo, which this year will be used to kick-start the second Reginald Spiffington novel. But first, sleep.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

