Skip to content

“November seems odd”

November 10, 2010

The beginning of this month certainly seemed of a piece with the description of November in the song of the same name by the incomparable Tom Waits: “November only believes/in a pile of dead leaves/and a moon/the color of bone.” Or even better: “November has tied me/ to an old dead tree/get word to April/to rescue me.”

I spent most of last week lying in bed moaning, beset with body aches, fever, chills, and the sorts of unholy fluid production usually seen in The Exorcist. A Plague of Biblical Proportions struck the whole family, and woe unto those of us who were laid thus low. Great was the tumult and wailing. I missed three full days of work, something that I can’t ever remember happening before.

So, it’s polite for the month to redeem itself by having lots of great and mighty goodness going on. I am not, unfortunately, doing National Novel Writing Month again this year, because I lost a full week with the Plague and just can’t catch up. But–I have begun work on the second Reginald Spiffington novel, and have been keeping a fairly regular writing schedule, just as if NaNoWriMo were happening. I also finished my North Dakota vampire story, which I’m revising now. All work which is good and fun.

Also exciting is the revelation, today, of some of the art for Barking Mad. Ali LaRock is doing the art, and she’s just shown us the final products. There are four character illustrations in all. The one here is Mimsy Borogove, who is the female lead. I think she’s fabulous:

Mimsy Borogove, author and all-around clever person

Typecast is hard at work now on the design for the novel. I’m pleasantly anxious to see what they come up with; design and attention to the book as object d’art is one of the many reasons why I’m a lucky writer to be working with Jen Woods and the team at Typecast. I don’t know what they’re going to do with my book, but I know it’s going to be beautiful. I’ll keep you updated with everything I’m allowed to show or say right here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

