Skip to content

Looking Forward (and Back)

February 1, 2011

Geez, I can’t believe how long it’s been since I posted here. My apologies–it’s been a busy and head-down sort of month and a half, with Christmas thrown in the middle. I had all good intentions to post a wrap-up of 2010, but here it is February 1st and no such luck.

So briefly–2010 was about as amazing a year as I’ve ever had. I went from aspiring writer to author-with-a-novel-coming -out-soon, and Cornerboys was screened at three film festivals, winning one and landing as a finalist in another. The band got a new bass player and developed a newer, funkier sound while recording basic tracks for an album and filming a video.  A whirlwind of creative projects. I had a blast.

2011 looks to be cut from a similar mould. Cornerboys is being screened at the Nevermore Film Festival in late February (our first Horror Fest!), and we are firmly entrenched in the process of trying to secure an agent for the book version. Tentative plans for a second film are underway, with both Kevin and Ali committed. Blind Mice continue to get attention, and will have a completed recording some time this spring (the first single is out and available).

The big event, of course, will be the release of Barking Mad: A Reginald Spiffington Mystery, in early June. We are beginning the pre-publication promotion, starting in earnest at the AWP convention tomorrow, and continuing with some really exciting stuff in the weeks to come. This stuff involves two short stories and some technological applications; the only other thing I can say is that I can’t wait to tell you about it. The actual release of the novel, scheduled right now for June 6th, will be followed by a book tour through the mid-west and southeast, and all those dates will be listed here on the Calendar page as soon as I know them for certain. The art is done (small previews can be found by poking around Typecast’s web site) and I’ve seen the direction they’re moving in as far as design. I’m so grateful to be working with Typecast, who are as attentive to the object of the book as they are to the words inside. It’s going to be a beautiful and amazing book. There’s a Facebook page up now, which you can find from the linkbox on your right. Once there you can and should “like” it.

Moving ahead, I’m writing and writing. I’ve outlined a middle grade novel set in Victorian London (with zombies, because, you know, zombies) and written its opening scene. I’ve got that one on the back burner, though, while I work on the sequel to Barking Mad, which is at about 8,000 words right now (just a little thing!) and is tentatively titled Wolf Tickets. Also rolling around the shape of the new poem that will become the next film.

That’s the late update and New Year forecast. My only resolution is to write. And I will. Hope your year is off to a swimming start. I’m off to Washington, D.C. tomorrow morning for the AWP convention. I should have plenty to report when I get back.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

