Skip to content

In which your intrepid author visits the nation’s capitol

February 12, 2011

I spent a good part of last week in Washington D.C. at the Association of Writers and Writing Programs annual conference. I went to find poets partially–for the English department’s speaker series at UMary and for the North Dakota Poetry Festival I’m coordinating for the ND Humanities Council–and I was very successful. It was hard not to be, since there were poets everywhere you turned, but I was able to identify several excellent writers to invite to the speaker series and to meet with the booking agent for several bigger name poets for the ND festival.

The other reason I was there was to begin promotion of Barking Mad. This was even more fun than poet-hunting, mainly because I got to hang out with my editor Jen Woods and the enthusiastic team from Typecast Publishing. We handed out postcards with pictures of Reggie, Mimsy, Pelham, and Arabella on them, and talked and met and shook hands. Jen toured through the (huge, huge) book fair and glad-handed the editors of magazines we’d like to review the novel. It was pretty exciting, frankly, and I felt like a real live author.

I also attended a couple of off-site poetry readings hosted by Typecast, one at the small, funky, and crowded Black Squirrel and one at…wait for this…the Lincoln Memorial. Typecast, H_ngm_n, and Forklift Ohio gave a joint reading on the steps of the Lincoln Memorial thanks to a National Park Service permit. It was pretty fricking awesome, if I may so express myself. A great crowd in an amazing location, and some really, really great poets. The pic below is of Matt Hart, reading from his upcoming collection Sermons and Lectures. The picture gives some sense of the event, though you need to see the Washington Monument lit up in the background behind Matt to get the full effect.

Matt Hart reads at Abe's House

I was stoked to meet one of my favorite poets in the world, the extremely cool Matthew Lippman. I’m bringing Matthew up to Bismarck in April to host UMary’s Poetry Slam, so it was nice to get a sneak preview at AWP. Below you can see Mr. Lippman with my editor, Jen Woods.

Matthew Lippman and Jen Woods, short people who stand tall on the inside

And I saw lots of old friends from grad school, and had a great dinner with my friends Ed Madden and Ray MacManus. All was wonderful until Delta cancelled my flight home and I had to stay an extra night in D.C. But even that ended up okay–I spent most of Sunday in the National Gallery of Art surrounded by Rembrandts, Van Goghs, and Vermeers.
Now, home and back to it. The second book is coming along–I’m starting chapter three today. No one’s dead yet, but it’s not because folks haven’t tried.
5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2011 12:41 pm

    Excellent timing on lunch, Jamie, as I was afraid I wouldn’t get the chance to meet you! Sorry I was rushing off to catch a cab and a plane. I hope you’ll end up in Louisville or nearby for an event when your book launches so we can talk more. Congrats again on joining the Typecast family. Jen is aces and I feel like books are in good hands with her. 🙂

    • Jamieson Ridenhour permalink*
      February 12, 2011 2:59 pm

      No worries, Erin. I was glad we connected, if only briefly. I agree about Typecast–I’m in good hands. And yes, I should be in Louisville in July for a launch party of some form. Hope to talk with you there!

      • February 17, 2011 11:23 am

        Hooray! Looking forward to it. Ain’t no party like a Typecast party, as they say.

  2. February 21, 2011 9:51 am

    See Jamie.
    See Jamie shake hands.
    See Jamie swing a cat and hit some poets.
    See Jamie being Awesome.
    See Jamie: Poised for Greatness!

    You rock! =D

    • Jamieson Ridenhour permalink*
      February 21, 2011 10:25 am

      No cats were swung or otherwise harmed in the making of this post.

Leave a Reply

