Skip to content

Madness, I tell you! (tour wrap-up)

August 1, 2011
It is August–the summer wanes, school will start back soon (which means I have syllabi to revise). My birthday is just around the corner, but you still have a week or so to find the perfect gift (a MacBook Pro, perhaps). And the Barking Madness tour is over.

It was a great time. I’ve never been on a book tour before, and so had no expectations beyond knowing I’d spend a LOT of time in the car. Overall, we clocked just under 5000 miles in two and half weeks, much of it in the first and last days of the trip. And in between, I read and signed at bookstores, coffeeshops, a letter-press shop, and an art museum. And caught up with a slew of folks I hadn’t seen in quite a while, as well as meeting a host of new friends.

There were a lot of highlights, but chief among them were reading at Firecracker Press in St. Louis and at Quills Coffeehouse in Louisville. Firecracker are the folks who designed and hand-printed the cover for Barking Mad. While I read there, letter-press mastermind Eric Woods printed a specially designed broadside featuring a quote from the novel:

Reading while the presses run.

A broadside of my own.

The reading in Louisville, Typecast’s hometown, was at the supremely cool Quills Coffeeshop. Typecast matron Jen Woods introduced me, I read for half an hour or so, and then the band played. That’s right. I had a band. And not just any band, but the golden-voiced and fingered The Foxery, who rocked us into the end of the evening. It was a really great crowd at Quills, and I got to see and hang out with Erin Keane, author of my favorite novel-in-poetry about a carnival side-show, Death-Defying Acts. Gwyn and I really dug Louisville as well.

The grand and gracious Jen Woods.

Reading at Quills

The Foxery, unplugged

The rest of the tour was lovely as well. Good readings and great friends in Asheville, Columbia, Florence, and Atlanta, and a signing in Boone. My daughter Eva sold some of her books along the way, nearly matching me in sales, and signed as well. We’ll do a big, joint reading and signing in Bismarck on August 13th. Hope you can make it.
All in all, the tour was about as successful as I could have hoped, and it was a really wonderful way to get the book out in front of people. Over the next couple of days I’ll update you on new projects, including the second film from me, Ali LaRock, and Kevin Smith. Until then, here are some more highlights from the tour:

An intimate reading with friends in Asheville

Signing after the reading at the Columbia Museum of Art

Eva and I hawking our wares.

Reading in Florence, SC.

My name on the chalk board at Bound to Be Read in Atlanta

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2011 2:58 pm

    Yay! A successful tour, indeed–so happy to have been able to attend. Let the neighbor borrow Barking Mad. Now she has taken to talking like Reggie. All the time. I shall have to Speak Sternly to her, if she doesn’t cut it out! šŸ˜‰

  2. Jamieson Ridenhour permalink*
    August 1, 2011 3:02 pm

    I think she “liked” us on Facebook. Roberta, right? Tell her I said she could talk like Reggie as much and as loudly as she wants. You be nice, old stick!

Leave a Reply

