Skip to content

Middle of the Month Round-up

October 11, 2011

Oof–so much going on, all of it good and galvanizing. I’m doing a fiction workshop with four high school writers which is making me frolicky, and I just finished a story I’m very happy with. Perhaps its title, “Captain Cleveland Grackle’s Galactic Cabaret vs. the Goblins of Vishnu 6,” gives a glimpse into its awesome. I’m shopping it now, and hope it will find the perfect sci-fi steampunk rock and roll home. I’m also about to head off to Florida for five days, where I will be Disneyed and will also spend time at Hogwarts, drinking butterbeer. I will also maintain near perfect radio silence. So I wanted to collect the first half of October in one place before I go.

Our tally for October so far: One (1) poem, one (1) short story, and one (1) short film. Also a book sale and an interview (I’m on page 25).

My poem “In Which a Lady Scientist in Touched by the (Primal) Webbed Hand: A Sonnet,” a Darwinian feminist homage to The Creature from the Black Lagoon, was published in the issue 5 of Inkspill.  The whole mag is available as a free PDF download right here. It’s a gorgeous little magazine, and my poem looks right at home there.

A tad more Octobery is the new issue of macabre children’s magazine Underneath the Juniper Tree, also available online (click on “Expand”). This is a truly awesome mag, featuring art, poetry, and fiction of the gruesome variety aimed at kids, who love gruesome when it’s well done. My story is a short little chiller called “Bedtime,” and it’s illustrated by the wonderful Elizabeth Rose Stanton , who also did the cover. Check out my story, but also read the rest of it–amazing work by Rebekah Joy Plett, an excerpt from zombie king Jonathan Maberry, and art by Dave McKean. Say that again: me and Dave McKean, right there together. Almost as if we’d met and he knows who I am. (we haven’t. he doesn’t). Very cool magazine I’m happy to be part of.

And finally….eerie drum roll please…HOUSE OF THE YAGA is here! The second film from me, Kevin Smith, and Ali LaRock is up and viewable on YouTube or on this very website. I’ll let it speak for itself–we’re very proud, and Kevin and Ali brought their A-game and then some. We’ve upped the creepy a notch on this one, just in time for Halloween or your Sunday brunch.

Cool things are already happening around Yaga: the film was featured on The Daily Dead’s weekend round-up a couple of weeks ago, and there has been much retweeting and FB sharing (you’re still encouraged to engage in those activities). At the top of the awesome heap, however, is this from Jenni Field the Online Pastry Chef. Go look, then go cook. Then eat. This is, I should say, an Official House of the Yaga tie-in, and we’ll be using Jenni’s recipe as part of our promotional materials for the film.

The film, incidentally, will make it’s film festival debut later this month at ValleyCon, where I’ll be a guest. Come out to Fargo and check it out–I’ll be doing several panels and a reading, and you can meet Clare Kramer (of Buffy fame) and legendary sci-fi author David Weber as well. Ali LaRock will be there with me, and we’d be happy to sign your freshly purchases copy of Cornerboys, which will be available on DVD for the first time there.

Whew! That’s mid-October. More to come, including a reading at Barnes in Noble in Bismarck, but first, I’m going to Disney World.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 11, 2011 12:48 pm

    You were not kidding–October for you is Ridiculous! Thanks for the mention–can’t tell you how thrilled I am to be a part of the Yaga happenings! Enjoy your Disney time:)

Leave a Reply

